Every time I’m adjusting the speed on the treadmill or trying to continue to pedal when my legs feel like jelly on an exercise bike, I think to myself that being at the gym feels surreal.

I’m not one for New Year’s resolutions.Instead, I like to improve on myself constantly in small ways as opposed to making big decisions for big changes which are usually so overwhelming, that you’d probably give up anyway.

In saying this, I made the decision to join the gym and I have to say…

I’m just a girl standing here looking sweaty, ridiculous and out of place, but I’m here to tell you…It’s one of the best decisions I’ve made in a long time.

And I’d like to share my gym story so far, along with a few tips.

img-20161210-wa0002

Ask how to use any strange looking machines

The treadmill is pretty basic once you figure out the intensity levels, then it’s just a matter of pressing buttons.

There are machines that are a bit more complicated though and if you come across one, feel free to ask one of the trainers or someone close by. People are helpful, I swear.

You might think you’ll look silly by asking, but believe me, you’ll look sillier exercising backwards on a machine like me…

 Bring a towel- it’s a lifesaver

As much as we’d all like to just be slightly glossed over while working out for that ‘ I’ve been exercising look’, I’m sorry, but you’re going to sweat and if you’re doing it properly, you’re going to sweat a lot.

Dab up constantly not only so you can keep dry, but so that you won’t make the machines damp from your sweat for the next person. Be nice.

Wear what you’re comfortable in

Honestly, I did wrack my brain about what to wear the first day, but I realised that although there are people who like to dress up for the gym, most people are sporting an old T-shirt and gym tights. Wear a good pair of takkies/trainers though for extra comfort.

 Bring along some tunes

Music is important during a workout because it helps you to keep a constant pace and it distracts you enough during ‘not so enjoyable’ sessions. If you really want to get the best out of music during a workout, make your own playlist and jam to your own tunes. It will make it more enjoyable and you’ll be too distracted by your need to boogie, to cringe at the pain.

Drink up

While you’re sweating it our, your body is losing water. Bring along a bottle of water to quench your thirst and to keep you cool throughout your workout.

Take it easy…

While I’m huffing and puffing, I’m usually looking at someone in awe at how they’re effortlessly lifting weights or at how they are STILL running, while I’ve run out of steam. Slow and steady wins the race, guys. You’ll get there, but for now, get comfortable with a routine and slowly increase the intensity of your workout.

Well, there you have it, I’m not a professional in any way, so be sure to ask a personal trainer if you are unsure of anything and have fun! Gym should be all about becoming fit and healthy, with lots of fun in between. Here’s to sweating it out for great results, Adrenalin all the way.

